EISD Football teams earn All-District Honors

EISD Football Teams Earn All-District Honors
Posted on 12/06/2023
This is the image for the news article titled EISD Football Teams Earn All-District Honors

On the football field or in the classroom, Edgewood ISD student-athletes are putting in the work necessary to succeed.

The Kennedy Rockets are well represented in All-District honors. Jarnezz Simmons and Rocky Apolinar earned 1st Team All-District recognitions. Bobby Watkins, Ethan Klebahn, Elias Garcia and Angel Rodriguez made 2nd Team All-District. Honorable Mention nods went to Daniel Enriquez, Fabian Medina, Matthew Hernandez, Francisco Mireles, Greg Guadarrama, and Donnell Banks.

The Rockets didn’t just work hard on the football field; these young men put in a tremendous effort in the classroom. For their hard work, 24 Rockets earned Academic All-District accolades. The list includes Ethan Klebahn, Donnell Banks, Jason Olivares, Daniel Torres, Matthew Harrison, Elias Garcia, Sean Bruederle-Martinez, Angel Rodriguez, Francisco Mireles, Augustine Trevino, Isaac Hernandez, Noah Gomez, Alejandro Loera, Lamar Fields, Aidan Araiza, Dezzell Hickey, John Cantu, Estevan Portillo, Mathew Hernandez, Eric Martinez, Bernado Bernabe-Soto, Christopher Lowe, Rocky Apolinar and Daniel Enriquez.

More than dozen members of the Memorial High School Minutemen football team earned All-District distinctions. Senior Jordan Ortega is the only MHS football player to earn All-District honors for both defense (1st Team) and offense (2nd Team).  Achille Madjikm and Jesse Nava also made 1st Team All-District.  Players who received 2nd Team All-District accolades include Francisco Ontiveros, Richard Ramirez, Nicholas Garza, Abrham Cruz, Jaime Delgado, Elijah McKelvain, Michael Hernandez, Hau Mung and John Elizondo.

The Minutemen also put up big numbers academically. More than 70% of the varsity team earned Academic All-District recognition. Jordan Ortega, Achille Madijkim, Javin Hernandez, Christian Llerenas, Hau Mung, Rey Villenueva, Ryan Perez, Nicholas Garcia, Marcos de la Garza, Joseph Fernandez, David Gonzalez, Armani Valle, Antonio Gonzalez, Abraham Cruz, Ti No, Dah Say, Jesse Nava, Elijah McKelvain, Richard Ramirez, Jaime Delgado, Michael Hernandez and Obed de la Cruz, Anthony Grant and Eugenio Resendiz all maintained a 90 or higher grade average all season long.