Below is the SBEC Technology Application Standards that are driving the EISD Technology Assessments


Technology Applications Standards for All Teachers

State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC)

Standard I

All teachers use technology-related terms, concepts, data input strategies and ethical practices to make informed decisions about current technologies and their applications. (EISD Phases I&II)

Standard II

All teachers identify task requirements, apply search strategies and use current technology to efficiently acquire, analyze, and evaluate a variety of electronic information. (EISD Phases I&II)

Standard III

All teachers use task-appropriate tools to synthesize knowledge, create and modify solutions and evaluate results in a way that supports the work of individuals and groups in problem-solving situations. (EISD Phases I&II)

Standard IV

All teachers communicate information in different formats and for diverse audiences. (EISD Phases I&II)

Standard V

All teachers know how to plan, organize, deliver and evaluate instruction for all students that incorporates the effective use of current technology for teaching and integrating the Technology Applications Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) into the curriculum. (EISD Phase III & Portfolio)


Professional staff who have successfully completed the technology requirements, including the online professional portfolio, will be awarded electronic badges to post on their website. This will give staff a means of quickly identifying those individuals who have worked hard to successfully meet the technology expectations of the district.

*According to TEA, the term “teacher” applies to all certified professional staff including Administrators, Counselors and Librarians.